My Speaker List

Nobel Prize in Chemistry is Awarded to 3 Scientists for Work ‘Snapping Molecules Together’

Carolyn R. Bertozzi of Stanford University, Morten Meldal of the University of Copenhagen and K. Barry Sharpless of Scripps Research will share the 2022 Nobel Prize in Chemistry, which honors the scientists’ independent research that resulted in the development of what is known as click chemistry and bio-orthogonal chemistry. Their works have “led to a revolution in how chemists think about linking molecules together,” said Johan Aqvist, the chair of the Nobel Committee for Chemistry.

“This just opens up a world of possibilities in terms of materials and polymers,” said Dr. Angela Wilson, president of the American Chemical Society. “It’s like putting Lego pieces together — you do it much more easily and are able to build bigger molecules.”

Read the original article in The New York Times.